Best food for ferrets?

Hi :smile: ,I have 4 ferrets,all of them eat Marshall Pet Products Premium Diets ,my the smallest ferret right now isn’t taking the food too well he’s at the age where he can eat solid foods but he poops very grainy ,so my point is what can I do are there better options out there what can I feed all of them that will be one easy for them to get adjusted to and 2 be healthy ?(I’m not interested in having them eat raw well not at the moment)

1 Like

Hi @mandi831

I’m assuming you’re based in America because of the Marshall Ferret Food so we may need a few of our ‘over the pond’ users to jump in here but I’ll tell you what I know!

Nowadays, the U.K. has nearly as much variety in ferret food as the Americas which is great, but also then means it’s more likely that we pick a food which isn’t as good as another.

While personally I have no experience in Marshall foods, having a look at the ingredients we can see the top 4 are:

1. Chicken By-Products (organs only)
  2. Chicken
  3. Chicken By-Product (Meal)
  4. Corn Meal

On the face of it, this actually compares well enough with our foods over here. With ingredients that are listed on the packaging, it’s ordered based on the most content, so we can be mostly sure that the top 4/5 on the ingredients list make up the majority of the foods composition. Corn Meal is probably the reason for your strange poops. Although its generally the normal way to get fibre into your ferret, Corn Meal can be very high in fibre which could mean your ferret can’t digest all of it, the seedy parts of the poop are probably all the undigested fat and carbs that your ferrets didn’t have time to process.

I’m guessing that you’ve only just started the youngest on this food so he or she is probably just adjusting to the new food, it can take a little while.

As for recommending other foods, Ive absolutely no idea in the USA market so I will bow out here and let someone else recommend foods for you :slight_smile: